Now what?

About a month ago I hit 140 pounds. I went on vacation with my husband, our two daughters, my mother-in-law, and my sister and brother-in-law’s three kids. I gained about 4 pounds on vacation, probably from not drinking enough water, eating a lot, eating a lot of fast food (it’s what was there) and drinking. But it was vacation, it was fun, and within a couple days of being home I dropped all the water weight and was back to 140. I have steadily kept up with weight training and focused less on running and have stayed at 140 for over a month. 

I think I’m done with losing weight – pounds, that is. I am smaller than I ever imagined I could be. I remember one of my original goals being 175 pounds and a size 12. I reached that point and it was not good enough for me, so I kept going. I am a size 8 now and I think I am happy with where I am. I don’t think I would look healthy if I lost any more weight. 

So now, I suppose I focus on maintenance and weights. I am still quite jiggly in places I haven’t focused on (thighs, bum, belly) so I am working on that. I went to the gym the other night with a friend who used to be a competitive lifter and is a personal trainer. She worked me hard and we didn’t even “do” that much. I mean, I suppose we did do a lot, but overall I was surprised at how hard it was. She showed me a good core building exercise (pikes) and I was a little sore after that. But… the kicker was proper squats. We did over 100 squats total and now, two days later, I am feeling it the worst! Yesterday wasn’t so bad, but she said, “Just wait another day… you might find you are more sore!” She was absolutely corret. 

But it was fun and I know I need it. I know I still have weaknesses. For the first time in my adult life I am happy with my body, though. I am not obese or even overweight anymore. I can go shopping with ease! I don’t even glance at the plus size department anymore. 

Now that I’m at the end of the hardest part of the journey, it’s a good time to reflect. The changes are not only physical, they are mental. I like what I see in the mirror. Sure, some days I feel fat and bloated and dislike myself but that’s probably 2-3 days out of the month and you can all guess when that is :/. For the first time in our marriage of nearly 9 years, I am smaller than my husband not only in body size but weight. When we got married, I weighed about 175 pounds. He was a very muscular 125-130 pounds. Now he is about 160 pounds and I weigh 140. It’s crazy. I was never able to fit in to his military uniforms, but now I can – and he can’t button them! 😛 It’s adorable how proud of me he is. He always tells people he meets how beautiful I am and how much weight I have lost. For the first time in my life I really feel pretty, most of the time. Other people have taken notice too and frankly, I like it. The attention is nice.  🙂 

So now, I just have to work on my muscles. My arms are looking fantastic (seriously, I flexed yesterday and was actually shocked at the progress I’ve made in two months) and I am starting to see a little definition in my upper belly, but my middle area really needs hard work and I am determined to make it good. I may not ever be able to wear a bikini again and I’m ok with that, but I will work hard to at least TRY to wear one again ;). 

 

Leave a Reply

